Niger State Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development
Minna-Paiko Road, Minna Niger State
Mon-Fri: 08:00 - 16:00

About Us

The Agricultural sector with Ministries of Agriculture and Rural Development; and Livestock and Fisheries are charged with the responsibility of initiating and implementing policies aimed at increasing food security, creating wealth and employment opportunities for rapid economic growth of the State.
The Ministry is focused be the engine of growth and transformation of Niger State’s economy and a critical facilitator of the achievement of the State’s vision of being one of the three most developed state economies in Nigeria by year 2020


The policy trust for the Agricultural sector is driven by the need to address the strategic issues affecting the sector in the State which is Low agricultural productivity. The reform objective as stated in the Blue print remains to “Achieve self-sufficiency in food production and employment generation”. To achieve this objective, the blue print has identified specific programmes for implementation within the immediate, intermediate and long term periods in the life of the administration.

Realizing the Project

In concern with the major development policy thrust of Government, the overarching goal is to take advantage of the diverse agricultural resources in the State and develop an agricultural sector that guarantees food security, employment generation reduction of poverty and facilitate Agro Industrial growth towards accelerated economic development of the State which is private-public-partnership propelled.



The administration considered the modernization of agriculture as a fulcrum for the structural transformation of the economy and the sustainable reduction in the incidence of poverty. Therefore most of the other sectors, policies and strategies were revolved around the promotion of agriculture.

Theme Image

Hon. Zakari Haliru J. (Hon. Comm. Agriculture & Rural Development)
Dr. Ibrahim Garba M. (Perm. Sec. Min of Agric. & Rural Dev, Niger)
Hon. Haruna Nuhu Dukku. (Hon. Commissioner Livestock & Fisheries)
Dr. J K Wasa (Perm. Sec. Ministry of Agriculture & Rural Dev, Minna)